How to restrict your Chromebook to certain users

0
159

By default, anyone with a Google Account can sign in to your Chromebook and start using the computer. If you want to lock it down and only let a certain group of people use your device, it’s easy to set it up in settings. Here’s how.

What you will need

To restrict which users can use your Chromebook, you must be signed in as the device owner account. The owner account is the first account registered on the Chromebook when it’s new (or after a Powerwash reset). If you don’t have access to the owner account, you won’t be able to restrict who can use the Chromebook.

RELATED: How to Powerwash Your Chromebook If You Get Stuck

How to restrict your Chromebook to certain users

First, sign in to your Chromebook with the owner account. Once logged in, open the launcher and expand the menu until you see the app icons. Click on the gear icon to launch the Settings application.

In Settings, select “Security & Privacy” in the sidebar, then click “Manage other people”.

In the Manage other people settings, if you want to prevent people without a Google account from using your Chromebook, toggle the switch next to “Enable guest browsing” to the off position. This is optional, but it will prevent unauthorized people from using your Chromebook.

Below the “Manage other people” page, turn on the switch next to “Restrict connection to following users”.

After that, you will see a list of users already registered on the device. To remove a user from the list, click the “X” button next to their name. To add another user, click “Add User” just below the list of users and follow the menu prompts.

When you’re done, close settings.

The next time you see the login screen, you will notice that the “Add Person” button is grayed out. If you ever want to allow other users again, go back to Settings> Security & privacy> Manage other people and turn off “Restrict connection to following users”. Be careful!